Restoring a Cluster

Menu

Cluster backups may be used to restore data from a point-in-time to a new cluster, via the Console or using the Provisioning API.  Data will be restored to a new cluster.

When restoring a cluster, you may choose to:

  • Restore all data or only selected tables
    • If restoring a subset of tables, the cluster schema will still be restored in its entirety and therefore the schemas for any non-restored keyspaces and tables will still be applied.  However, only backup data for the selected tables will be restored.
  • Restore to a point-in-time
    • The restore process will use the latest backup data for each node, up to the specified point-in-time.  If restoring a cluster with Continuous Backup enabled, then commit logs will also be restored.

Once the Restore parameters are submitted, a new cluster will be provisioned under the account with a topology matching the designated point-in-time (e.g. if 3 nodes were added to a 3-node cluster on 01/10/2017 and the restore operation was for a point-in-time of 30/09/2017, then the restored cluster will have 3 nodes).

Site by Swell Design Group